Thanks for the follow, Draped in Cloudlets. You’ve got some cool designs on your site! I loved the retro styling, and I’m impressed that you blog in both English AND German simultaneously. Looking forward to seeing more of your work. 🙂

So, Day#3 on the blog (and the quilt) and I’ll admit, I’m kinda missing Facebook. You know, just logging on to see what everybody else is doing. It’s like a gossip column, I guess, but since everyone posts about themselves, no one is offended that you know what’s going on in their life.

Except now, I don’t. It’s a little weird. After Facebook being a part of my life for the past 6 years, I think I’m going through withdrawal. I don’t regret my choice, though. At least, not yet. 🙂 I’m adjusting, and wondering if I’ll make it through the whole year without setting up a new account…and if I do, will it feel weird to finally have Facebook again come 2018???

So, back to the quilt. The top is 36 squares with a blanket-stitched applique on each one; I figure if I do 3 squares each month, I’ll have all of the squares done in one year. The second year I’m planning to applique the 40 border designs, put the quilt together, and then do the actual quilting. I’m doing the appliques by hand, but the assembly will be on a trusty sewing machine

I decided to map out a timeline for the quilt after being inspired by two of my grandmother’s current projects. She’s subscribed to 2 or 3 one-year quilt “clubs” or something like that. One of the groups is free — the organizer sends out a supply list, the members choose their own fabrics, and every month the directions for that month’s squares are sent out. It’s a Mystery Quilt, so she doesn’t actually know what the finished quilt top will be until the final month!

The second quilt membership sends materials along with the instructions each month, for a fee; I don’t recall if that one was also a Mystery Quilt (Grammy had so many projects going), but in any case I was inspired by the fact that it was reasonable to complete a quilt top in one year. Instead of thinking “Oh my, I have 76 appliques to do, and batting to purchase, and templates to trace…!” I only have to work on three squares a month, and at the end of 2 years I should have a finished quilt. I know, I’m taking twice as long, but hey, it’s better than NOT having a quilt at the end of the 2 years, right???

What about you? Are you working on any long-term projects? Email me at AnonymousQuilter@gmail.com, or comment below!

